Turbo - Boost control.

Discussions relating to Turbochargers, Superchargers, Induction, Engine Mods, Exhaust Mods, and other items specifically to make your MX5 or Roadster put out more power.

Moderators: Growler, jif, SLYDIT, Born_disturbed

Mad Kiwi
I count 5-s in my sleep
I count 5-s in my sleep

Turbo - Boost control.

Post by Mad Kiwi » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:01 am

Anyone have any experience with boost management, electronic or manual...?

I want to start raising the boost a little from the 6 ish I currently have to around 8-9.

It looks like AEM do a gauge/controller unit with some nice features but any reviews i have found are old and not especially favourable.....

I have zero experience with turbo systems so welcome any thoughts, ideas, ramblings on the matter!

For the sake of clarity please qualify with "I have used" or "I have read" :D

WideOpenThrottle
I have stars, you haven't. Deal with it
I have stars, you haven't.  Deal with it

Post by WideOpenThrottle » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:06 am

I have an AEM gauge plus a wide band o2 sensor that i got from FM.

Seems to work fine as far as read-out goes but because my engine was on the way out i couldn't really tune it to what i would have liked as it was changing read-out values too quickly. I was running 10psi boost.
1989 NA 1650
1998 NB 1800
2005 NC 2000
1990 Landcruiser
Surfboard
Push-bike
Hiking shoes

Mad Kiwi
I count 5-s in my sleep
I count 5-s in my sleep

Post by Mad Kiwi » Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:02 pm

Was that just a gauge or did you have a boost adjustment "knob" with it?

I sort of like the electronic concept, set it and forget it. It manages the situation if something changes, whereas manual can go high (or low) if you have any kind of problem...and requires monitoring of the gauge to keep an eye on things...

Is that sort of right?

Keith Jones
I count 5-s in my sleep
I count 5-s in my sleep

Post by Keith Jones » Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:24 pm

I've got a RacePro manual boost controller on the race car.