New Mx5 owner

Talk about stuff not related directly to MX5s. Feel free to discuss what you like, as long as you keep within the forum rules.

Moderators: LilRay.Sun, Growler, jif, r3spct

Timmo
I count 5-s in my sleep
I count 5-s in my sleep

New Mx5 owner

Post by Timmo » Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:33 am

Hey Guys- Thought I better introduce myself :) I'm Tim from the Mount.

I've just bought an immaculate 1996 NA8 M-Edition and am really enjoying it so far. The M-edition means the factory addition of a hardtop, tan leather, full Jasma exhaust, 16" alloys and LSD (?- could someone confirm- I haven't been able to check yet). The car has been maintained well with brand new leather on the seats so I'm looking forward to some trouble free motoring

Up till now I've been a Toyota driver mostly with a couple of MR2's (current car is a 92 MR2 Turbo), a TT Soarer and a few other (boring) cars.

My first impression of the MX-5: Very nicely weighted gearshift and steering...light but precise. The car is well balanced and everything feels 'light' in comparison the MR2. Where with the MR2 you muscle everything: Clutch, steering and gearshift, the '5 is light....this is probably a lot to do with kms (220km vs 125km in the MX5) and engineering needed to handle the power difference (240+ vs 130 hp).

The balance in handling is, of course, much different- My Current MR2 runs fairly agressive springs and larger diameter wheels and tyres. The initial turn in feels less direct than the MX5 but will continue to turn in especially under throttle. It is amazing how much heavier and 'solid' the MR2 feels but the difference is only 250 KG or so. Where the MR2 pounds the road, the MX5 seems to skip over it....