NB inconsistent VIN details

Discussion about MX5s, Roadsters & Miatas, not directly fitting into one of the categories below. Please keep it on topic.

Moderators: LilRay.Sun, Furai, Growler, zorruno, jif

Dnz
Hey. They are NOT Training wheels.
Hey.  They are NOT Training wheels.

NB inconsistent VIN details

Post by Dnz » Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:16 am

Hi All

I'm new to mx5's, but having taken a couple for a test drive I think I may be hooked.

I'm looking at buying this NB, ticks all the boxes I want at this point, drives well and seems to be in pretty good order from what I could see: [edit - seems I can't post links as a first time poster, trademe auction id: 669986109]

However, carjam lists it as a) an auto, b) an NB8C-101088 - both of which appear to be wrong. It's clearly an NB8A and has a 6 spd manual, 6 speed guages etc.

Are these likely to be errors on the report or is it likely to be an auto-conversion or something fishier? What's the usual way forward?

Thanks!

Dnz

Post by Dnz » Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:30 am

Hmm actually looks like the NB8C thing might just be terminological differences from different markets or me being confused, as google has plenty of JDM 1998 NBs called NB8C-1xxxxx.

Do auto-converted cars present any kind of problems with mx5's? I know it varies quite a lot between different manufacturers/models when it comes to conversions so any insight re: mx5's would be helpful.

marcellarius
I count 5-s in my sleep
I count 5-s in my sleep

Post by marcellarius » Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:15 pm

I don't think NB8A and NB8B are official Mazda codes, but terms the MX5/miata community use for the three revisions of the NB8 that were sold over the years. I'm not sure what the C means in the chassis code.