Changing the brake pads.

Discussions relating to MX5 Tyre choice, Wheels, Brakes Suspension components and other items to keep you going around corners, stuck to the ground or stopping on a dime.

Moderators: Growler, jif, Born_disturbed, punkoutnz

MrGrey
I have stars, you haven't. Deal with it
I have stars, you haven't.  Deal with it

Changing the brake pads.

Post by MrGrey » Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:17 pm

I am going to replace my front and rear brakepads and was wondering if anyone knew what size hex fitting I will require to remove the 2 hexbolts that clamp the calipers together? Also, once I have the calipers off, what is the best method for pressing in the cylinders to fit the new pads? would a simple G clamp suffice?

yeah....
I'm a noob, but I'm trying to get better! :P

Angreal

Post by Angreal » Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:29 pm

from memory there are a whole bunch of 14mm and one 17mm bolt/nut that need to be removed and the g clamp works (well it worked when I did it once upon a time).

It's all very simple to do

dylann
Need, more, 5-ing, time....
Need, more, 5-ing, time....

Post by dylann » Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:33 pm

for the front if you undo the lower 14mm nut on the back of the caliper you can just tilt the caliper up then take out the old pads.
the g clamp is great to push the piston back in, you can do it by hand apparently but i never managed to do it. im sure the rears are just as easy.

also remember to gently pump the brake pedal before you go to drive it again, otherwise your foot will go straight to the floor haha, my dad says that you could ruin the cylinder or something because it isnt used to being pushed all the way in.

Keith Jones
I count 5-s in my sleep
I count 5-s in my sleep

Post by Keith Jones » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:38 am

For the rears you have to back the pistons off using an Allen key. Access to the adjusting screw is through the hole after you take out the 8mm (12mm head) bolt on the back of the caliper.